Learning SFML for C++

So, as I’m taking a C++ course this semester I’ve decided it’s as good a time as any to learn a media API for C++. Therefore, I’ve started learning SFML. I found SDL to be a bit much (since loading sprites is quite painful.) I’m currently working on an artillery-style game. I have some basic map generation working now. It generates a random 1D heightmap  and then uses a mixture of linear and cosine interpolation on those points to create a smooth surface. After, the entire terrain image is drawn to a texture and rendered to screen for fast drawing.

Created pixel-by-pixel from an interpolated height map

A video showing a few more seeds:

Leave a Reply

